Upon logging into Twitter today, you will be notified with the following message which as far as we’re aware is a mandatory pop-up which you can’t avoid:
The above statement from Twitter is accompanied with two options, these are ‘Sounds Good’ and ‘Read More’. If you click Read More you will be then see that Twitter has switched on a selection of new measures by default which you are given the option to disable.
While you may be okay with some of the changes, we have a feeling that the majority of users will certainly want to uncheck the last box which if ticked will allow Twitter to share your data with ‘selected’ companies which may sound a bit worrying.
There is the obvious disclaimer on Twitter on how it will never share your email, phone number or name but how else are these private companies going to suddenly contact you at the worst possible time?
Consider this a warning if you did not see the statement from Twitter today. What is your reaction to the changes and have you unticked all boxes yet?
*Identifying Monetised Links - outgoing links that we monetise are marked with an '*' symbol.