in

Manage Google+ with tips: Circles, email notifications, privacy

Most people who have experienced Google + have been pretty complementary about the new social networking site so far. Its numbers are growing at a fast rate, so we thought we would help you manage Google+ with tips on Circles, email notifications, and privacy.

One of the best features of Google+ is the Circle feature, and how you manage these can have a big affect on your Google+ experience. You may be added to someone else’s Circle and you may not even know them. They may have added you because they saw something you shared that interested them, but you don’t have to add them to your Circles if you don’t too. It will cut down on the amount of traffic your stream gets.

When organizing your Circles you need to decide which people you want to share certain content with, or not to. So friends and family can be put together in the appropriate groups for when you want to share your status etc. People you don’t know can either be ignored or put into Circles for when you are sharing information that is not that personal.

You can also prevent information shared with your circles being re-shared by disabling re-shares in the options. This can be ideal when you are sharing private information, and you can also disable comments on your post. For more information on managing your Circles head over to this article.

If you want to slow down the amount of email notifications you are getting first of all you need to go the settings. These can be found at the top right hand corner by your name. You are then offered a variety of options which can be unchecked to reduce your email notifications from your Google+ account.

To manage your privacy and profile settings you have to first go to the Google+ settings on the top right hand side of the page. Once clicked you get some more options on the left hand side which include Profile and Privacy. Here you can change your visibility on profile settings and change who sees your profile, email, content etc.

When you click edit visibility on your profile you are taken to your profile page which has all your information. Alongside each item is a globe symbol which when clicked gives you the options for changing how information is seen and by whom.

The beauty of Google+ is the fact it is much easier for the user to decide who sees what, and how that information is then shared. Have you used Google+ yet?

Written by Gary Johnson

Gary has a background in engineering and passion for motorcycles, gadgets, and home cinema. In his early years, his obsession for Hi-Fi technology would see him creating the perfect setup with a good ear for sound quality. While Gary is keen to write about most topics that PR covers, his love for phones finds him reporting a lot of news about applications for iPhone, Android, and other popular operating systems

1
Leave a Reply

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
paul smith uk Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
paul smith uk

abc123

Battlefield 3: New gameplay proves dominance over Modern Warfare 3

Keep an eye on your calorie intake with iPhone apps