in

GTA V falls within two release windows

The flurry of Grand Theft Auto 5 screens had been a nice tease for fans of the franchise, but the silence since is not welcoming and it is hoped that another GTA V trailer would land soon considering the prolonged wait since the last one. The viral marketing, new images, and other information had led some people to believe a release date would at least be announced soon, but nothing has come to light and some gamers are starting to get frustrated again.

There have been a number of fake rumors appearing online and this most recently included an apparent GTA V release date, which pointed to a launch in 2012 and while we, as well as others, explained that this is almost certainly not going to happen, some fans still have faith that a release could happen within the next few weeks.

GTA V falls within two release windows – if the next Grand Theft Auto did land this year it would have to be between October and December, although this window is already full with some massive titles releasing. Rockstar might prefer to launch after Christmas with less competition, although with that said we’re sure the majority of gamers would see GTA V as a game that has no competition. If this is the case then Rockstar could choose a launch for any month and it would sell just as good.

The second window for GTA 5 to release would be between March and May next year, although if it comes down to when is best for Take-Two’s finances then the game would need to release before April. We touched on the bad financial results for Take-Two in a previous article, and worryingly this shows that there’s a lot riding on GTA 5 and without it some analysts believe the company would be in serious trouble.

Are you still hoping for GTA 5 to release this year? In our opinion these wishes are never going to see the light of day, and considering we’re about to move into the last quarter of 2012 and no retailer has heard anything, or staying very silent about it, then you can count this year out for GTA 5 launching.

One thing we are sure about and that is how smart Rockstar are when it comes to the release of GTA 5, and their silence builds a lot of hype that directly benefits the brand and their next GTA game. This silence has left gamers looking for two of the most important bits of GTA 5 information, and that’s a release date and when they can pre-order. At the time of writing Rockstar is still silent on these facts.

You can read about possible 64 player multiplayer PC support in an earlier article, although this would mean only 32 players on PS3 and Xbox 360. Would you like to see this feature?

Written by Daniel Chubb

Daniel is the CEO of Dansway Communications LTD and founder of product-reviews.net; a top blog dedicated to breaking tech news, hands-on reviews and delivers real solutions to everyday consumer electronics hang-ups.

Daniel now spends his time keeping an eye on the latest technology and business trends. Also developing other blogs/news sites in the entertainment and business industries.

Contact Daniel Chubb: daniel@product-reviews.net

66
Leave a Reply

avatar
37 Comment threads
29 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
43 Comment authors
MikeAlex GritzmacherJohngta5 in may??? hopefullyfranc Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
John
John

Not a chance its coming out this year! Q2 2013 people!

gta5 in may??? hopefully
gta5 in may??? hopefully

i believe gta 5 will release after march as they would have to much competition from oct/dec as black ops 2 and other games will release then. rockstar never release games in jan/feb/march, check yourself, so the only possible time they can release it is april to may being the latest. most of thier biggest hits were planned to be released(gta4) or released on april such as rdr, max payne3, la noire… so dont give your hopes up for oct to jan release date.

franc
franc

patience people. it shall be epic once polished to perfection.

Andrew Vale

I’m Saying 2013 Know For Grand Theft Auto V Probably March Or October Release Date I would Love it to Release This year But Can’t See It Happening Really Rockstar Games Are Keeping Us Whiting A Very Long Time So

manz
manz

GTA V is coming 24/05/2013.

oochy-wally-wally
oochy-wally-wally

bunch of fan boys bumdas, it will come out when it will come out and when it does, it will be immense and will rake in fortunes, even if i cant afford it i will beg steal and borrow to get this game

wow
wow

“if the next Grand Theft Auto did land this year it would have to be between October and December” wow. just wow.

Isaac
Isaac

Christmas would be the best time for them to release the game. They would easily make millions in the first day or two. I know I would get a copy.

But either stores are keeping very quiet about it or it really is going to be a May 2013 release.

We will have to wait for E3 before a confirmed release is announced.

ViridianPC

Is everyone forgetting the GTA IV launch? There was a steady building up of the hype for months before the launch, starting as we have now with a trailer and a few screenshots, then we got plot teasers, characters, a website showing glimpses of life in Liberty City, all leading up to the launch. GTA V will probably follow the same pattern and it wouldn’t surprise me if we were as much as 12 months from the launch date. All the cry babys saying ‘wah, launch it now’…. grow up. If it was finished and ready to launch then no… Read more »

big g
big g

ive just been on best buy web site and went to pre order gta5 and it sayin pick up from the store 31/12/2012

Barny
Barny

Rockstar have annoyed me so i’m going to wait a few weeks after release and buy a 2cnd hand copy off E-bay or Amazon. Hey they’ve made me wait this long so i can wait an extra few weeks after release to get my dirty little paws on a 2cnd hand copy, and it will be cheaper! If it launches April to May time i won’t bother picking up a copy untill October 2013 when i have more time to play, too busy doing outdoor stuff in the spring and summer.

Wait_&_see
Wait_&_see

Im joining the the ‘Boycott Rockstar Club’ A lot of fans in their late 20’s to 30’s who grew up with Rockstar all started to boycott Rockstar games because of how they treated fans and because all GTA games have released in October (apart from GTAIV) October release to these fans is like a tradition and a release time they love as its the start of long cold nights when they get a chance to play games. They boycott works and is in full effect and Max Payne 3’s terrible sales prove this, so many in their late 20’s and… Read more »

seabrook87
seabrook87

I am getting a bit fed up with all this crap now. Its about time every1 shuts up, just sit back and be patient. It doesn’t matter when the game gets released just remember that it will be released. Remember this as well, it was only a year ago rockstar said there will be no GTA 5 then 2 months later the trailer appeared. This company knows what they are doing when it comes to publicity. they know we will buy it anyway. Unless of course you are under 18. I’m getting a bit sick and tired of parents buying… Read more »

hoohoo18
hoohoo18

@Carlo Palomba

If they market the game right they can turn all us adults into little kids. Look at San Andreas. How many grown men spent hundreds of hours playing that game? How many grown men bought it? Saying that adults don’t like surprises is your opinion and you are only speaking for yourself.

infamous
infamous

Best buy says 31/12/12???????? Might aswell pre order just incase lol And its rated 18 why are parents trying to buy gta for children???! People are seriously that messed up?

Carlo Palomba

Rockstar isn’t trying to surprise anyone as some people are saying. It’s all about the correct information going to investors. Remember; GTA is a game for adults. Adults hate surprises. We aren’t little kids anymore that need to wait like little kids around a Christmas tree.

Rodrigo Ibanez

Really? Am i the only one that has pre ordered gta v already??? I went to best buy and it said realease date for the 31st of december! I went today and its still there i already payed for the pre order so whatsup???? Is best buy lying???

that guy
that guy

You guys can argue all you want about release dates and when to release the game but I’m the end it doesn’t matter. People will make this game have record sales no matter when it comes out. Gta4 released at what was thought to be the worst time to release a game and wow go figure it broke records in sales. Bottom line…if they release it a week from now it will sell just as many copies as in march or whenever it gets released.

kingleon
kingleon

2k13 goin to be rockstars biggiest comp watch they goin to put it out then or when if a new black opps come out soon they goin to put it out there sooner then u think 1 game can change everythang who knows when or what but any game can come out these daze and blow up u feel me

kingleon
kingleon

Wtf im talkin about man now im thinkin about it it would be out in november watch

kingleon
kingleon

I think its true, but then again i dont, why every GTA Game came out in november, but not GTA IV, it came out 5 mouths later they push it back so think about it why wouldnt it come out soon, but once again we could be worng this could be right… who knows only rockstar knows the thurth.

Guinness Copley
Guinness Copley

If i had to put money on a date, i’d say mid March to mid April 2013 about a month/six weeks after Bioshock, (btw, who ‘owns’ the company that makes Bioshock and Rockstar? Take Two.) T2 and R* know what games they’d be going up against this year in the run up to christmas and in the early part of next year. Based on that, if i was running the show at T2/R* i’d opt for next year, after xmas when people might have a little bit more free money. Most of us, being ‘gamers’ would try and buy every… Read more »

Gabriele

here it is 🙂

kubitku (dot) com/gta-5-first-view-trailer-gameplay

Craig Burlingame

This article sans Release date isn’t helping fans of the game with their hopes either

TheTroubleman
TheTroubleman

Well this is kinda tricky. This year you got Blackops 2 ,Halo4,Assassins Creed 3, Borderlands 2,FarCry3, Then Early Next year you DevilMayCry and Gears of War Judgement,BioshockInfinite,Crysis3,. So if Rockstar does not want to release GTA5 between October and May they got some rivals comin in summer and Fall.
Rockstar competition will be Battlefield 4 ,Saints Row 4 and Watchdogs plus the risk of new console hardware.

Andy82
Andy82

I use to be good with picking Rockstar release dates… Then I took a arrow to the knee

The Truth
The Truth

trust me gta 5 is coming soon

Illuminati
Illuminati

Remember GTA IV, they only released some sneak peak trailer and a few images. And a leaked trailer was released. Apart from that just little bits of info. Then they released an actual trailer and the game was released the day after!

krueger
krueger

About a month ago Opie and Anthony said on air that they were going into RockStar to record voices for a game. It’s almost a 100 percent that it is GTAV therefore I don’t see how it would be possible for them to release the game this year when they are still imputing audio into the game. My guess is April 2013.

Oliver D Burke

I almost want to burn down rockstar! This is totally unnecessary. concealing a release date is more confusing than exciting. I would rather know what date it releases than some dumb a$$ tease trailer again. Only reason I believe it will release this year is because I can’t phantom why they wouldn’t want to give a yes or no unless that was there intention all along. to release the game this year and surprise fans by never denying or confirming its 2012 release. if it does not come out this year, I encourage all fans to display and voice you… Read more »

neeabba
neeabba

Let’s use some logic. The statement below is a generally accepted truth: Rockstar is being secretive because they want to surprise people with the launch. A surprise occurs when least expected. So they don’t want you to expect the unexpected; this means that they will launch GTA V when you think they won’t launch. So using common sense and simple logic, if everybody is saying it won’t come out in 2012, it means that Rockstar wants people to believe it won’t come out in 2012. Remember that the general opinion of the public and Rockstar’s real intentions have an inverse… Read more »

Pick my nose
Pick my nose

Has anyone considered that this is a considered leak by rockstar to pump people up about an imminent release of info for a q4 realise date. I for one feel a lot of these “leaks” could be part of a very intricate Plan from rockstar as they’ve told people to not believe these hoax’s. So why would someone make such an obvious fake to only be shot down by the whole Internet? Unless its all part of a very well planned out marketing scheme by rockstar.

babazula
babazula

i want gta5 now

GTA MAW FUCKA!!
GTA MAW FUCKA!!

i didnt like the fact that people said “it would be bad for rockstar to release GTA V only few months after Max Payne 3.” it has its Goods and its Bads….Goods: Rockstar would make way more money for releasing 2 major titles in one year, and knock all the newer games coming this year with no competition, therefore, probably winning the video game awards. Bads: even though if Rockstar releases GTA V this year, everybody would lose interest in Max Payne 3 and knocking their own game away like it was another developer who made it. I honestly hope… Read more »

richybaby
richybaby

I think a christmas release isnt out of the question yet

david boon
david boon

I dont want the game to release this year. Too many games already set but GTA would out sell all of them that is true. I think next year would be better. So far all the big games announced for next year are coming out in the first 3 months. Dead Space 3 in February, Crysis 3 in February, Bioshock Infinite was February, Gears of War Judgment is for March. April or May would be perfect

AJ
AJ

I’d prefer them taking their time and polishing it out, instead of rush-releasing it…
I’m sure the real fans wouldn’t mind showing some patience.

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 vs. multiple devices

iPhone 5 collides with Samsung Galaxy S3 Jelly Bean