Back in December we told you that users had the opportunity to start using Facebook’s Timeline option, which basically shows all of your activity on the site since you first activated your account. Then a few days ago this option now began its compulsory rollout, and currently it seems Facebook users are shunning the Timeline feature.
The new feature has caused some outrage among many users that comes as part of a major rework of the social networking site. It creates a virtual life story of the user’s time on the site that can go back as far as 2004 if they were on it then. If users have forgotten to delete any embarrassing comments or photos they will be more easily accessed now.
Before Timeline users could only find older content by searching through pages and pages of old content. A report on The Telegraph is stating that many critics feel the change erodes user’s privacy, but Facebook’s argument is that the content is already available.
Security firm Sophos has recently surveyed 4,000 users of the website and found that only 8% like the new feature. While 51% of those asked said they were “worried” by Timeline, but 8% did say they would “get used to it” given time.
Over the next few weeks users will receive a notification that they have seven days to update their profiles and delete content not wanted to be visible. According to Facebook the new feature doesn’t change any of the existing privacy settings, and an activity log will allow users to add extra settings to each entry.
This means that users can decide if all or some of their Facebook friends can see a certain image or message. Some also feel these changes will make users think what they now post to the site. Have you been using Timeline? What do you think of it?
*Identifying Monetised Links - outgoing links that we monetise are marked with an '*' symbol.