The Destiny beta characters won’t transfer to the full version and a reset is planned to wipe your character progress made within the preview build. The fact is, the majority of gamers expected their Destiny beta characters wouldn’t carry over once the game reaches its public release date.
This expectation didn’t stop fans from searching for the inevitable truth, which has now been confirmed by Bungie in a recent blog post. In a nutshell, all of your Destiny beta stats and characters will be wiped and everything is to be reset before the full game launches.
You can expect the time it takes to level up to be harder within the full game, although Bungie designers did confirm they’ve been playing with the time it takes to earn experience by making it harder and easier throughout the Destiny beta. The amount of changes meant that characters from the beta would be “confusing at best”, said Bungie’s Tyson Green.
Destiny has a release date set for September 9 in the UK and United States, so at this point you’ll be able to create a new character that you’ll be able to stick with for a very long time.
This news hasn’t gone down well with everyone and as you can expect, there’s mixed reactions among beta players. You can see an example of two different perspectives below, although there’s thousands more on Twitter and in gaming forums.
— Josh (@williamson117) August 9, 2014
— Elliott (@Tornado88) August 9, 2014
Are you looking forward to starting fresh within the full Destiny game next month, or would you have preferred beta characters to carry over?
*Identifying Monetised Links - outgoing links that we monetise are marked with an '*' symbol.