Turn off history sync between Yosemite Mac and iOS 8

By Peter Chubb - Oct 17, 2014

Since updating to Yosemite some users are having a few issues, although on the whole, the update has gone down very well. However, there are some of you who do not wish to share certain features of one device with another, and we have been hearing from people asking how to turn off history sync between a Mac running Yosemite and an iOS device, so an iPad or an iPhone.

The problem with sharing Safari history is that you could use your iOS device for work, but do not wish the history to become available on a home Mac, or vice versa. He was given some advice, but this would have meant he would have lost all the sync features, which is not the solution seeing as though it was only the history he did not wish to share.

Turn off history sync between Yosemite and iOS 8

With so many settings within Safari and iCloud it is often tough to know what to do, but the answer is rather simple, or so we hope. All you have to do is go to Safari on your iOS device then press the new tab button on the bottom right and then select private, this means only your iOS device will see what you have been searching. However, you will need to close all tabs before this blocks your history.

This can also be done on your Yosemite Mac by going to Safari tab at the top left and then select Private browsing. We do hope this was of help to you?

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Google Plus.

Also See: iOS 8.4.2 release uncertainty before iOS 9 Gold Master

Turn off history sync between Yosemite Mac and iOS 8