Google Maps optimized for iOS 8 available for download

By Peter Chubb - Sep 17, 2014

Today is the day that iOS 8 is finally made available for download, and like we said yesterday, we will see a huge number of apps updated in order to play nice with the latest version of Apple’s mobile operating system. We have noticed that Google Maps is now optimized for iOS 8 and went live just a few hours ago.

When checking what the Google Maps update offered, all we could see were two differences, these were that it was optimized for iOS 8, along with a few bug fixes, although Google has not elaborated on what these fixes are.

Google Maps optimized for iOS 8

Starting the app up we can see no changes to its design, or any new features, and so this is just a minor update so that it is ready for the new OS, which will be around 1pm EST, 10am PDT and 6PM UK. However, these times could vary a little, and we do expect some of you to have one or two issues.

Problems with iOS 8 download – If the past is anything to go by, then we expect a few of you will try to download the updated software, only to find that it either takes far longer than expected, or doesn’t even start to download. This is a normal thing because you have to think about the millions of iOS users all trying to download iOS 8 at the same time.

Have you noticed any other apps optimized for iOS 8 being released?

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Google Plus.

Also See: Google Maps with new dedicated taxi services tab

Optimised for iOS 8