PS3 PSN down June 25, online gaming still possible

By Updated on

Some PS3 users are patiently waiting for a fix to the 4.45 update, after it was confirmed that the update was causing some serious problems. Thankfully, we already know that a fix will be available later this week on Thursday, but now we switch our attention to something else – more planned PSN maintenance.

Unfortunately, the PlayStation Network is going down yet again, with Sony confirming that routine will take place on Tuesday June 25. Sony has revealed on their blog that the maintenance period is going to last for a long time too, with the downtime starting at 5.30pm BST/6.30pm CET and won’t be back up until 12am BST/1.00am CET.

Having said that, you’ll be pleased to hear that online gaming will still be possible. All you need to do is make sure you remain signed into the PSN network before the maintenance starts, and you should be able to resume playing online as normal. If you attempt to connect during the maintenance window, you won’t be able to join.

Account management and the PlayStation Store will be offline completely as well, so make sure you download any demos or add-on content soon before you are locked out. It’s yet another painful reminder of the problems involving the PS3 online infrastructure, with consumers obviously hoping that there will be no repeat of the frequent PSN downtimes in the transition to next-gen.

Sony has promised improvements in this area specifically, so hopefully Sony will be able to perform their maintenance in the background on PS4, with the consumer no longer needing to wait hours and hours to resume playing online. As this fresh maintenance approaches for the PS3, let us know if you think Sony can cut down on outages for the PS4.

Also See: Sony KDL60W610B 60-inch review, PS Now 120Hz LED TV

ps3-down-june-25-2013