Sony PS4 share button with restrictions

By Updated on

If you have been keeping up to date with Sony PS4 rumors, you will have no doubt heard about the exciting new PS4 Share Button, that will allow users to instantly record gameplay and screenshots, which can then be whisked off to the various social sharing spaces online for your friends to view.

The Share Button is just one of the new features that Sony has incorporated into their new PS4 DualShock4 controller. Aside from video sharing, the Share Button will also allow other users to watch a live stream of gameplay, and communicate with the host in situations where they needed feedback.

Sony’s Shuhei Yoshida has been speaking a little more about the Share Button, revealing that it will be up to developers on whether they want to disable certain aspects of the feature or not. For example, Yoshida cited a situation where a studio did not want video sharing of a final boss to become freely available.

Developers could shut off this mode if they want to, but then again it doesn’t necessarily stop the footage from being recorded via other means. We see all the time, mobile footage captured of a new game uploaded to YouTube, so should Sony actually just embrace it full on without restriction?

Some may view it as actually very frustrating, for Sony to introduce such an exciting new feature, only for the majority of developers to be able to disable parts of it as they see fit. Developers obviously do not like their work getting out early, so what happens when someone picks up a game days before release, and then goes crazy on the Share Button letting everyone get a nice preview?

It’s an interesting debate, but hopefully the restrictions won’t be too harsh. If you are looking forward to the new PS4 controller, let us know your thoughts on this one.

Also See: PS Plus update news will be October 1st

sony-ps4-share-button-restrictions