Galaxy S4 US launch preference on Pi Day

By Posted 25 Feb 2013, 10:42

We knew it was coming but it was finally nice to have confirmation, yes we are talking about the Samsung Galaxy S4, as the company announced the official date of when they plan to launch their next flagship Galaxy device. There are two things we find interesting here, the first is that Samsung has given preference to the US this time because the S4 will be unveiled in new York.

The second is that its debut takes place on Pi Day, which is the day you can celebrate mathematics – well it doesn’t take a mathematician to know that this handset will sell by the bucket load.

There were already rumors suggesting that the Galaxy S4 would be unveiled in March at Samsung’s Unpacked event, so we’re happy to say that this will take place on March 14 at 19:00 EST, which is 16:00 PST and 00:00 GMT on the 15th of March.

The event took place in London last year, so now that the S4 will see its debut in the US this year, could the likes of Sprint, AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile be getting the release at the same time as their cousins across the pond?

There is a good possibility that this could be the case, as we are told that the top North American carriers were very vocal in asking for the unveil to happen on their soil this year. As you would expect Samsung did not share any details on Galaxy S4 specs or an exact release date at MWC 2013, but as always there have already been details leaked – well supposedly.

According to a recent leak the Galaxy S4 could come with a 4.99-inch Full-HD SoLux Display, 1.9 GHz Snapdragon 600 processor, 2 GB of RAM, up to 64GB of storage and a 13-megapixel camera.

A review of those specs is no big news, as it’s pretty much what we expected – apart from the display that is. All we need now is some leaked pictures, a video or price and we will have just enough to keep us going until March 14, 2013.

Galaxy S4 US launch preference on Pi Day