Mac App Store Live: Mac OS X 10.6.6 Update Needed

By Posted 6 Jan 2011, 16:03

Apple may not be at CES 2011, but that does not stop them from launching a new service. Mac App Store has now gone live, and there is said to be over 1,000 apps already available, and one of those is Angry Birds. However, in order to take advantage of this you will need to update your operating system to Mac OS X 10.6.6.

Those of you who already use iTunes will know just how the system works, but please download that update first. The update was made available at 5:30 a.m. PST, 8:30 a.m. EST and 1:30 p.m. GMT. This new app store for the Mac OS is thought to revolutionize our Mac desktops and laptops, just as it has done for the iPhone, iPod Touch and the iPad.

Now that you have downloaded the app you will now see a dock next to the finder at the bottom of the desktop. Macworld reports that this is not going to be like iTunes, but it is said to look very similar once you click the software logo. You will be pleased to know that the same categories are there, such as top paid and free as well as those that have grossed the most money.

As well as those 1,000 apps are those developed by Apple, such as iLife and iWork. I have yet to try out any of these new apps, but once I have finished what I need to do for the day I will make the necessary update and then download one or two Mac Apps – will be interesting to see how they perform on my Air. For more details visit the Apple Mac Store website.

You can add us to your circle on Google+, follow us on Twitter, join the photo community on Pinterest, or like our Facebook page to keep updated on all the latest news.

Categories