Samsung Galaxy S: Resetting and deleting personal data

By Updated on

If you are the owner of the Samsung Galaxy S we have some worrying news for you. An unknown number of Galaxy S handsets have a bug which when connected to a PC starts the auto-reset feature, and deletes all of the user data.

Khidr Suleman from V3 is reporting that the problem starts when connecting the handset to a PC using Samsung’s Kies software. A Samsung spokesperson said that “This only occurs if the Galaxy S device contains a file name extension longer than 16 characters,” “The issue will be remedied immediately when the file is removed.”

The company also said they are working on a software update, which should be available by the end of the month. This news of the problem with the Galaxy S will probably go down well with staff at Apple HQ, following Samsung mocking the reception problems with the iPhone 4. Data deletion will surely be more of a problem for owners than the odd dropped call.

Have you lost data on your Galaxy S?

Also See: Galaxy S Advance slips between S and S2

  • Ffitchner

    Whew. You had me worried for a second but just remember kies isn’t used in US markets.